Injured Morris misses out, Tahir rested for SL limited-overs leg

Cricket Sports News

Shared News
• Last updated on Mon, 18 Jun, 2018, 03:18 PM

Chris Morris continues to nurse an injury and will miss the limited-overs leg in Sri Lanka in July. © Getty
South Africa’s exploration of its depth in limited overs cricket will continue in Sri Lanka after the selectors named two uncapped players in the ODI squad and also recalled 20-year-old allrounder Wiaan Mulder. Cricket South Africa also confirmed that Chris Morris will miss the tour due to the back injury he picked up during the IPL.

The Proteas intend to use the five-match series in Sri Lanka next month and the three-match series at home to Zimbabwe in October to identify the squad that they will take to next year’s World Cup in England. After using the home series against India earlier this year to provide opportunities to fringe players, the selectors have brought in two fresh faces for the Sri Lanka trip, with batsman Reeza Hendricks and fast bowler Junior Dala called up to the one-day squad for the first time.

South Africa’s tinkering has also been extended to the spin department, where Imran Tahir has been left out in order to afford both Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj some game time. Shamsi has been on the fringes of various Proteas squads for some time, while Maharaj’s one-day abilities have been on the selectors’ minds given the excellent form he has displayed in Test cricket.

“We have taken the strategic decision to rest Imran Tahir so that we can get a clearer picture as to who our best second spinner is to back him up at the World Cup,” selection convenor Linda Zondi said. “Imran will be our first- choice spinner at the World Cup but, if we play him against Sri Lanka, it is unlikely that we will be able to play both Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj.

“By taking this route, we will be able to play the two of them together. Tabraiz has been the outstanding bowler in franchise white ball cricket this past season. Keshav has been outstanding for us in red ball cricket and we need to give him the opportunity to show us what he can do at international level in the ODI format.”

Twenty-eight-year-old Hendricks has played 12 Twenty20 internationals for South Africa, the most recent of them against India in February, but has struggled for consistent form in other formats. The opener’s call-up to the one-day squad is something of a surprise, given that he averaged just 31.2 in 10 Momentum One-Day Cup games last season, with one century.

Dala, meanwhile, has been rewarded for his composed start to international cricket in February, when he played three T20s against India. Mulder made his ODI debut against Bangladesh last October, and returns to the squad after missing out on selection for the India series.

Khaya Zondo was left out despite scoring a fifty in his last ODI innings – against India in February. However, Zondo will captain South Africa A in both formats during their tour of India next month, when they will play India A in two four-day Tests prior to their annual triangular series against the hosts and Australia A.

South Africa’s five-match series against Sri Lanka takes place in Dambulla, Kandy and Colombo between July 29 and August 12. The squad chosen for the ODIs will also be utilised in the one-off T20 in Colombo on August 14.

South Africa Squad: Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, Junior Dala, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram , David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi.


Alongside the senior squad, CSA also announced 15-member squads for the upcoming A tour, where South Africa will play two four-day Tests against hosts India before taking part in a triangular one-day series that will have Australia as well.

South Africa A one-day squad: Khaya Zondo (c), Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien, Gihahn Cloete, Theunis de Bruyn, Robbie Frylinck, Beuran Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Pieter Malan, Senuran Muthusamy, Dane Paterson, Rudi Second, Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi, Malusi Siboto

SA A squad (four-day series against India A): Khaya Zondo (c), Sarel Erwee, Zubayr Hamza, Beuran Hendricks, Pieter Malan, Senuran Muthusamy, Mthiwekhaya Nabe, Anrich Nortje, Duanne Olivier, Dane Piedt, Dwaine Pretorius, Rudi Second, Rassie van der Dussen, Malusi Siboto, Shaun von Berg.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.