Pakistan’s World Cup campaign so far mirrors the 1992 one


Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

Pakistan added yet another win to their 1992 throwback as they beat New Zealand comprehensively at Edgbaston.

Shared News| Updated: June 27, 2019 11:15:29 am
Pakistan have revived memories of 1992. (Twitter/cricket world cup)

Pakistan added yet another win as they beat New Zealand by six-wickets at Edgbaston. The uncanny resemblance between the 1992 World Cup and 2019 World Cup is hard to ignore as the win-loss record is identical in more than one way:

– In 1992, Pakistan’s first six matches went as- a loss, then a win, then an abandoned match, followed by two losses and a win. And then they went on to win the World Cup.

– This time, their first six matches had identical results, and on both occasions, their seventh was against an unbeaten New Zealand outfit.

At Edgbaston, an unbeaten New Zealand lost to Pakistan. Even the match results are similar.

In their sixth match of 1992 World Cup, Pakistan beat Australia and man of the match was Aamir Sohail. In 2019, they beat South Africa in the sixth match and Haris Sohail was declared man of the match.

Again, in 1992 Pakistan won with 5 balls to spare and by 7 wickets thanks to an unbeaten century (Ramiz Raja’s 119). A similar result was seen on Wednesday, Babar Azam scored 101 and his team won with 5 balls to spare. Netizens even found similarities between Haris Sohail’s run-out and one in 1992.

Meanwhile, Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed couldn’t suppress a smile when asked about the parallels between 1992 and 2019.

“We are not thinking about the 1992 World Cup, we are taking game by game here. We are confident as a team and hopefully we will do well,” he said.

However, it is not necessary that such trends always reach their predicted conclusion. Italy is supposed to reach a FIFA World Cup final once every 12 years – they didn’t last year. Liverpool is to win a Champions League every year Prince Charles gets married — there were no wedding bells for him, but Liverpool won the Champions League.