ATP World Tour Awards 2018: Novak Djokovic, Rafa Nadal, Roger Federer among winners


Novak Djokovic won the ATP Comeback Player of the Year Award after returning from elbow injury to win two grand slams and returning top of the rankings.

Shared News | November 10, 2018 12:34:59 pm

Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer were among the winners at the ATP World Tour Awards 2018. (Source: Reuters)

The big three of men’s tennis – Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer – were all among the winners at the 2018 ATP World Tour Awards. The trio were named as award winners on Friday in the prelude to the season-ending ATP World Tour Finals in London.


Not so surprisingly, Djokovic won the ‘Comeback Player of the Year Award’, voted by the ATP players, on the back of his glorious run during the second half of the season. Having dropped to World No 22 at one stage after struggling for form following an elbow surgery, the Serb bounced back by winning Wimbledon and the US Open including Masters titles in Cincinnati and Shanghai. His brilliant run saw him replace Nadal at the top of the ranks at the Paris Masters when the Spaniard withdrew due to injury.

Djokovic’s coach Marian Vajda was also named ATP Coach of the Year (voted by ATP coaches) after he guided the Serb back to the top following their reunion in April.


Nadal won the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award “for his fair play, professionalism and integrity on and off the court”. Nadal and Federer have shared the dominated the award since 2004 but the Swiss has won 13 times including the previous seven in a row. Meanwhile, Federer continued his run as the Fans’ Favourite (voted by fans) player. It is the 16th straight year that Federer has won the fans’ award.

All the ATP winners:

ATP World Tour No 1 (determined by ATP Rankings): Novak Djokovic
Comeback Player of the Year: Novak Djokovic
ATP World Tour No. 1 Doubles Team: Oliver Marach & Mate Pavic
Most Improved Player of the Year: Stefanos Tsitsipas
Newcomer of the Year: Alex de Minaur
Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award: Rafael Nadal
Arthur Ashe Humanitarian of the Year: Tommy Robredo
ATP Coach of the Year: Marian Vajda (Novak Djokovic) Fans’ Favourite presented (Singles): Roger Federer Fans’ Favourite presented (Doubles): Mike Bryan & Jack Sock
Ron Bookman Media Excellence Award: Sue Barker (BBC)
ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year: BNP Paribas Open (Indian Wells)
ATP World Tour 500 Tournament of the Year: Fever-Tree Championships (Queen’s Club)
ATP World Tour 250 Tournament of the Year: Intrum Stockholm Open (Stockholm)

Leave a Reply