Bumrah ruled out of England T20Is


The pacer had suffered an injury on the webbing of his non-bowling hand in the first T20I against Ireland

Jasprit Bumrah, India pacer, has been ruled out of the three-match T20I series against England. The pacer had suffered an injury to his thumb of his non-bowling hand in the first T20I against Ireland in Malahide while looking to stop a ball on his run-up. He didn’t train the following day and was rested for the second game of the series.

The pacer underwent a scan of his injured hand and the results revealed a fracture. He could return to the set-up for the the three-match ODI series against England, starting on July 12 in Nottingham. Deepak Chahar, who has snared seven scalps in the ongoing one-day tri-series, also involving England Lions and Windies A, will replace him in the T20I squad.

Meanwhile, Washington Sundar, the all-rounder, has been ruled out of both the T20I and ODI series due to a right ankle injury, which he suffered whilst playing football during India’s practice session in Malahide on Tuesday.

Spin-bowling all-rounders, Krunal Pandya and Axar Patel, will replace Sundar for T20Is and ODIs respectively. Both of them are presently playing for India A in the tri-series. Axar has snared five scalps at an average of 20, while Krunal has bagged two wickets so far in the tournament. Krunal also took 12 scalps at an average of 23.66 for Mumbai Indians in IPL 2018.

The first match of the T20I series is set to begin on July 3 at Old Trafford.

Additionally, the selectors have also added Rishabh Pant to India A squad for the four-day match in England. Currently a member of the India A’s squad for the one-day games, Pant will continue to be with the side for the longer format as well. The Indian side is scheduled to play a two-match series against Windies A, starting July 4, and a one-off unofficial Test against the hosts starting July 16.

Updated squads:

For T20Is vs England: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Hardik Pandya, Siddarth Kaul, Umesh Yadav

For four-day matches: Karun Nair (C), R Samarth, Mayank Agarwal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prithvi Shaw, Hanuma Vihari, Ankit Bawne, Vijay Shankar, KS Bharat (wk), Jayant Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ankit Rajpoot, Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Rajneesh Gurbani, Rishabh Pant

Shared News | Last updated on Sun, 01 Jul, 2018, 05:26 PM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.